Fridays are a male free zone for me at the moment; the eldest is at school, youngest at nursery and hubby at work. So I am making the most of this man and child free environment to spend my time creating and crafting. It can be difficult when in the house, not to procrastinate or get side tracked into doing the never ending list of chores and housework. One of my friends also has the same issue of procrastinating, and so we have begun to meet up on the occasional Friday to motivate and inspire each other. A couple of weeks ago, I taught her how to make wet felted flowers, and this week , she taught me how to make these very pretty fabric flowers!

I was so impressed with the  result, that I thought I would share it on my new blog.

You will need:

  • Lining fabric – in whatever colour tickles your fancy
  • Fabric scissors
  • Tealight
  • Needle and thread
  • Button/bead for flower centre
  • Brooch pin (I turned mine into brooches, but they could be attached to hairclips/hairbands, necklaces etc)

Cut out the circles of lining fabric. This does not have to be perfectly done, but if you prefer, you could draw out the circles with tailors chalk or make paper templates.You should have two circles in each size. A total of around 10/12 discs should be enough.

 Cut 4 or 5 slits into each fabric circle to form the petals.

 Carefully melt the cut edges of the petals using a tealight. Hold the fabric to the side of the flame; the heat is enough to melt as required. Do not allow the fabric to touch the flame or the fabric will catch fire and leave burn marks.

Stack the petal discs in size order, and sew together in the centre. Add beads or buttons to the centre as you wish, and turn your flower into whatever you wish – brooch, hairclip, bangle.

Have fun!

About mrssloanqueenofscones

Yorkshire born and bred.

3 responses »

  1. Brilliant idea. I shall be trying this one.

  2. Jazz Hands says:

    They are so pretty!

Leave a Reply

