A couple of weeks in, and already I’ve been neglecting my blog. I’ve so many things on the go which I do intend to ‘blog’, but they require a certain amount of forward planning for photographs etc.- I’m trying to pick up my game!

In the meantime, while one of my future blogs is slowly baking in the oven (Christmas cake!!!), I thought I would quickly share some of my charity/junk shop finds from this month.

First up, my cheapest find is this set of 4 stoneware mugs. They were 25 pence each from the local charity shop. Some people would be put off by the fact they are brown, but I am brown and so have a soft spot for all things brown and retro! The glaze on them is rather nice, it reminds me of some of the West German vases I own.

My love of all things brown and retro extends into my collection of 70’s coffee and tea pots. I couldn’t resist myself when I saw this poppy design Meakin coffee pot. I used to have a casserole dish in the same design, which sadly broke. I can’t remember exactly how, but I’m going to blame the hubby (he’s the usual culprit). Needless to say I was very excited to find this. At £3, it would have been rude not to buy it!

 

I also picked up some Pyrex from the chazza shop; 6 oval platters with a delicate blue and black print for £5. My mum used to have the same set, so the sentimental (and guilty) me wanted to buy them. I had taken the one and only remainding plate from my mums set with me to University, and one day thought it would be a good idea to put it in the microwave to warm up. I forgot that I had left it in there and managed to kill both the plate and the microwave. The pattern reminds me of snowflakes, and they will make pretty platters for christmas; much better than those horrid silver foil platter trays

I picked up more Pyrex in the shape of these pretty bowls from a ‘junk’ shop at £1 each. I was going to buy one, but I thought it would be lonely. I’m not one to break up a family. My Hubby isn’t too keen on them, but I quite like the cute, colourful flowers.

Hubby is also partial to some charity shop rummaging, and picked up a St Micheal tweed jacket for £6.50. It does need a dry clean though as it pongs of sweat, bleugh! He was reluctant to strike a pose for a picture, so I took a couple of snaps of just the jacket, which at the moment don’t want to upload!

 

My cousin is getting married next year and is having a vintage tea service during the day, and so is collecting tea sets for the occasion rather than renting them. It’s just another excuse for me to go into the charity shops, and I found this pretty set for her for £8. It included 6 tea cups, 6 saucers, 6 additional plates, one serving platter, a milk jug and sugar bowl. I also found another milk jug for £2 which matches other teacups she has bought.

.

And there you have it, my bargain finds for October!

About mrssloanqueenofscones

Yorkshire born and bred.

4 responses »

  1. jennimoo says:

    My Gran had a Pyrex dining set and even though I have it in the loft I get sentimental when I see it at car boots and in charity shops too! It is close to indestructable, although I also broke a piece at uni: straight from oven to cold water…

    • snozcumber says:

      Get the set out of the loft! Just try not to break any more! I’ve just seen a pyrex dining set with fox hunt motif in the chazza shop. It’s the height of tackiness but I’m finding myself strangely drawn to it…..

  2. I love the pyrex bowls….I really want some. I spotted that pyrex plate set but can’t justify more plates!

    P.S. I’m corned beefy……………..x

Leave a Reply

