This was my first tiered and handpainted cake, made for my mother-in-laws 60th.

Just a quick post to share a cake I made a couple of years back.

I first really got into making cakes for occasions when it was my sons first birthday back in 2009. Looking back it was a little on the ropey side, but I’ve kept up the practice and have improved my skill and knowledge base since then. Though I am still my own worst critic, and always think I could have made them better!

Back in 2011 my lovely Mother-in-law turned 60. For her, I not only braved my first hand-painted cake, but also my first tiered cake. I chose a ‘vintage’ style flower print to paint on, using gel food colourings mixed with a little vodka (it evaporates quickly stopping the icing from going soggy). She likes pink, and is a massive fan of butterflies. Personally anything pretty, pink and girly makes me want to vomit.- Okay,  perhaps it doesn’t induce vomiting, but I’m not really a pink and girly kinda gal. I’d opt for grungy, brown and retro anyday.

I have quite a lot of cakes that I’ve done over the past few years, so be prepared for more posts with the others!

About mrssloanqueenofscones

Yorkshire born and bred.

7 responses »

  1. houseofherby says:

    That’s beautiful! Well done!

  2. Emma says:

    that looks so pretty, I especially love the painted flowers on the bottom layer 🙂 i might have to have a go at painting flowers on some cakes myself – thanks for sharing the idea!

  3. […] fete’ themed wedding for which I made the main wedding cake. She had seen the hand-painted cake that I had made for my mother-in-laws 60th, and was certain that she would like a handpainted cake for her wedding […]

Leave a Reply

