Thirty. It’s a milestone where most begin to reflect on their life and if they’re on-route to having one or more of what I call the three C’s; career, companionship and children. As I turn *splutters* thirty next month, I have begun the reflective process. I feel truly blessed in that I have my three C’s.  My companion, the Hubby, who is my best friend and knows me better than I know myself. I have two beautiful children who never stop surprising me and who make me smile the biggest smile. I have had to work extremely hard to get to the point of having a career that I love, but I have finally got there. What more could I possibly ask for? What does the thirty year old who has the three C’s aspire to now?

The answer – The Good Life! I have dreams of countryside living, with a veggy patch, a few goats, genetically modified lambs that stay as lambs forever and chicken running around at my feet. Our house, however, is a Victorian terrace with a scrap of a yard. I have been trying my best to grow veggies in as many pots as I can possibly squeeze into my minute garden, but I still want more of ‘The Good Life’. So, when Hubby came home from work the other day and said that some chicks were being sold as part of the land based studies course, I had my light bulb moment; a fourth ‘C’ to the thirties checklist. Chickens!

My week old Faverolles

Say hello to my week old Faverolle chicks – Penny (left) and Maude (right). I had a choice of Faverolles or Orpingtons, but chose the Faverolles because of their funny feathering and freaky toes. Unlike other chickens, Faverolles have five toes instead of four. The feathers that grow on their legs make them look like they’re wearing flares, although at the moment they look like fuzzy hobbit chicken feet. The hens also have puffy feathers under their beaks which make them look like bearded ladies. Check out what they’re going to grow into!

I should correct myself and say it’s what we hope they will grow into, as they haven’t been sexed yet. We may have a pair of roosters on our hands. Already Maude’s wings are looking darker than Penny’s. Maude could indeed be a Claude. I have had to prepare my children to realise that if either of them turn out to be roosters, we will have a roast dinner to look forward to instead of eggs.

About mrssloanqueenofscones

Yorkshire born and bred.

2 responses »

  1. Winter Owls says:

    My dad and stepmum had chickens for about 10 years and they were lovely, watch out for foxes though, one lot had a sad ending….

    • snozcumber says:

      I’ve never seen foxes where we are, but my friend who lives close by has. Our yard is quite enclosed, so hopefully we should be okay, fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

