letterpress tray

An elephant never forgets. Neither do women. We store up information ready to annihilate our unsuspecting victims at any given point. My poor Hubby has never been allowed to forget the time he talked me out of buying two letterpress trays, which at the time were a super duper bargain. Clearly he has grown quite fed up of me regurgitating the same story as he surprised me with this beautiful letterpress tray, which he bought on eBay. I think he paid around £20 for it (which I could have got the two trays for back in the day!)

letterpress handle

I’ve had hours of fun rummaging around the house for little knick-knacks to fill it up with. I’ve spent further hours re-arranging objects from compartment to compartment. I will no-doubt spend many more hours adding, removing and re-arranging. The display has already changed several times since I took the pictures a few weeks ago.

I’ve managed to include some thrifty finds, such as these Dewhurst’s Sylko cotton reels. I have a jar full of them bought from charity shops, but you can’t appreciate the labelling in the same way.

vintage sylko cotton reels

There are also a few tubes of vintage fabric oil paints. They were given to Hubby by someone from work who was clearing out their mums old house. The tubes and the boxes they came in are rather sweet. I’ve managed to find out more about them through emailing Winsor & Newton direct – a future post perhaps.

letterpress saree relief

Then, there are various wooden printing blocks which Hubby saved from the skip during his departments refurbishment. I also managed to squeeze in some of my sons Star Wars Lego figures….(I couldn’t resist).

letterpress printing blocks

So, all in all, I suppose that I can say my elephant-like memory has lots of good stuff to remember that Hubby has done – Credit where credit is due!

This is a Magpie Monday post, sharing my shiny, thrifty finds. Click on the link to se what other goodies people have found this week!

                    
About mrssloanqueenofscones

Yorkshire born and bred.

21 responses »

  1. Liz Burton says:

    What a fabulous display!! I love it, so eclectic.

    I’m also smiling at you never letting your husband forget a missed bargain – I’m guilty of that too..

    • snozcumber says:

      Cheers. I never let him live it down if he makes me pass on a bargain- though he does frequently find some of the best bargains…usually the free stuff, which isn’t all bad!x

  2. Jaime Oliver says:

    i am loving this display and what a niffy way to bring style into something and making it useful!

    Thanks for linking up with #magicmoments xxx

  3. That’s a particularly nice example! I’m very jealous because my husband doesn’t like ‘knick-knacks and dust traps’.

  4. camille says:

    It is gorgeous, as are the things you have chosen to display… I have been drooling over this all day 🙂

  5. Make do mum says:

    I do love a nice printers tray! Those wooden type blocks look very at home. Mine is crammed with random bits and bobs which I’m forced to rearrange and add to because bits keep falling out and disappearing behind the radiator beneath it.

    • snozcumber says:

      Yes, the blocks do fit nicely to say they didn’t come with the tray. Mines hung just at the bottom of the stairs, so no radiators to lose things behind…..though I can’t help but rearrange and add to…. Do you have a blog post on it, would be nice to see?

  6. thismumrocks says:

    Lol, will you have others rearranging and adding to it? I’d be one of those annoying visitors who whe you weren’t looking would shift one or two items to a different spot to see if you noticed. I do that to my husbands office desk all the time. Switch things from one side of his desk to the other, just to wind him up. 🙂

  7. rkrobinson9 says:

    LOVE IT!!! That tray was bought in love and in joy because now he doesn’t have to be reminded any more hehe

    Smiles,
    Rachael
    The Joyful Thrifter

  8. Caroline says:

    It looks fab – and I love all the little vintage bits and bobs you’re filling it with. Nightmare to dust, though, I imagine!

  9. What an amazing display. I am a devoted minimalist but I love looking at things like this … as long as they reside in someone else’s house 😉

  10. Melissa says:

    I love love love letter press trays and you arranged yours so nicely! I have one that I need to hang. Did you guys just adhere little saw teeth to the back to hang it?

    • snozcumber says:

      Hi, they are fab aren’t they! We hung it using two mirror plates at the top. For some reason the screws kept breaking when trying to mirror plates at the sides!? I’m not sure if glue would work, as they are pretty heavy. Let me know how you get on!

  11. Winter Owls says:

    Oooh, I love it! I have one that I keep buttons in but I’m very envious of your printing blocks….

Leave a Reply

