decoupage suitcase

Bonjour! I’m showing off Frenchy style today! Not only is decoupage of French origin (it derives from the word découper, meaning to cut out), I unintentionally used a French map too! It’s been quite some time since I have put my linguistic skills into practice though, so I’m a little rusty – I am embarrassed to admit that I  Googled the French translation for ‘suitcase’….

I thought I would expand my decoupage skills beyond vintage stamps and covers of National Geographic, to include maps. I’ve seen loads of cool ideas on Pinterest, where maps have been used to transform previously scabby looking objects.  So I chose an otherwise boring black suitcase which I picked up for free from THE Junkshop.

avant (before)

équipement

PVA glue mixed with an equal quantity of water

Paintbrush

Scissors

Scalpel

Map (50 pence from the charity shop)

Baby wipes (for wiping excess glue)

valise et une carte (suitcase and a map)

méthode

Clean the suitcase.

Cut map pieces to slightly larger than areas to be covered.

Brush the glue mixture over the surface to be covered.

Put map on top (flatten out those air bubbles).

Use a scalpel to carefully trim to size.

Dollop some more glue mixture over the top and spread evenly.

Wipe excess glue from the edges using a baby wipe.

Leave to dry.

Varnish later if desired.

valise voila

About mrssloanqueenofscones

Yorkshire born and bred.

4 responses »

  1. Clare says:

    Hello! I’ve nominated you for a Super Sweet Blogger Award – you can find out more about it here: http://somanycraftssolittletime.com/2013/05/31/super-sweet-blogger-award/ There’s no obligation to accept, I just want you to know that I think your blog is great! Clare 🙂

  2. I LOVE this!! such a good idea

Leave a Reply

